Review: e.l.f

I have assignments to do and yet I’m sitting here writing about makeup because I pick makeup over Photoshop any day (like the makeup trash I am). Anyways, I finally tried out most of the e.l.f products I got in my haul a few weeks ago, and I’m doing a short (and by that I mean rambly) follow-up!!! How good they are, if they’re worth the price and more.

1. Smudge Pot Cream Eyeshadow

My love for this shadow cannot be measured. It’s so easy to apply, and the pigmentation on it is amazing. Not only that, but it stays on the whole day and I’m honestly amazed. I’ve tried using the shade I got (Wine Not) as eyeliner too and it honestly works for me. It makes my eyes look more defined yet it’s subtle, making it perfect for a lazy day.

2. Long-Lasting Lustrous Eyeshadow

I have to admit that I’ve only tried this in Party, which is the glittery black shade. The pigmentation on this is really amazing too, although it’s a little to glittery for my liking. It works great as eyeliner too so that’s a selling point for me. It does tend to fade a little quickly as eyeliner though, which was kind of disappointing. But then again, I guess that’s being greedy since it’s meant to be an eyeshadow.

3. Flawless Eyeshadow

First off, I have to say that the application guide makes getting a perfect eyelook so much easier because I save a tonne of time picking colours. The Base colour doesn’t show up too well on my skin but all the other shades are amazing and it’s really easy to blend it out. I have to admit, I use this palette almost everyday for school because I love how it gives me a really natural yet slightly smokey eye look at the same time. Plus it stays on despite the heat which a really huge bonus.

4. Instant Lift Brow Pencil

This has become one of my holy grail products, and I am not kidding when I say I 9/10 times I don’t leave the house without it. The pencil makes drawing your brows so easy and quick and I am obsessed. The colour (Neutral Brown) fits me pretty well too so I guess the gamble paid off!!! The pigmentation lasts the whole day too unlike some other brow pencils I have and that’s probably why I like it so much.

5. Translucent Mattifying Powder

I use this everyday because it’s supposed to set my makeup but I honestly haven’t seen much of a difference. It does help to balance out my concealer so I guess it isn’t completely useless after all. The sponge applicator is a little small though, and being the klutz that I am, I drop it rather often.

6. Moisturising Lipstick

I’ll have to admit, I’m rather disappointed with this. The pigmentation on this is terrible, and the the colours appears either patchy on my lips (Black Berry) or it doesn’t show up at all (Marsala Blush). I use the Marsala Blush over my Soft Matte Lip Cream (Abu Dhabi) from NYX, which makes it show up a little more pink than I’d like. I use the Black Berry over this old Revlon lipstick I have which is blood red, but the colour ends up turning a little darker than I’d like it too. It does prevent my lips from drying out, although it can a little sticky once you’ve applied more than 1 coat.

7. e.l.f Matte Magic Mist & Set

I’ve only tried this twice and I still have mixed feelings over it. It does help set my makeup and it lasts the whole day. Yet at the same time, I haven’t really seen the magical matte properties at work, and it tends to turn my Maybelline concealer a little orange. I’ll try out with my Bare Minerals concealer and hopefully it works better then.

8. Bronzer Palette

This originally came as a free gift but I’ve ended up using it on a daily basis too. I use the 2 matte shades and I’m pretty impressed because it works almost as well as my Urban Decay one. It is a little hard to blend out though, but it’s nothing a little patience can’t fix.

 

So there’s my review of my recent e.l.f haul!!! I’m 99% sure this is the most boring post I’ve done because of the lack of photos. I wanted to include photos of me but I’ve been feeling really ugly lately and my self esteem is lower than ever so maybe next time. Anyways, I hope everyone had a good Chinese New Year and has a sweet Valentine’s Day!!! I’ll be spending my day in bed with my Korean boybands because the single life has chosen to plague me :’) See you guys around!!!

Posted by

I'm a media student in Singapore and I love to write. I'd like to think my opinions matter but they really don't. I'm a little too sarcastic but I promise I'm nice too.

3 thoughts on “Review: e.l.f

Leave a Reply

