12 Songs to Listen to When You’re Sad

Hello friends!!! This is probably a really random blog, but I’ve been thinking of writing a post that’s music related for awhile now. Those of you who know me probably know I love listening to music a lot. You’ll also know that I am currently obsessed with K-Pop so please expect a handful of songs on this list.

Most of the songs on this list are songs that I listen to when I’m sad so you may or may not like some of them. As usual, I’ll link the song in the title so it’s easier for you to check it out (if you actually want to).

1. Give Me Love by Ed Sheeran 

There’s just something about Ed’s voice that makes this song a lot sadder than it already is. i find the lyrics really poetic and soothing and it’s perfect to fall asleep to if you’ve just spent the last 2 hours re-evaluating your life.

ed-sheeran-give-me-love-i-love-you-lyrics-Favim.com-1966670.jpg

2. IF YOU by BigBang 

Okay I know I’ve talked about this song before but it really is one of my favourite sad songs. They recently released a Japanese version of it, but the Korean one is still sadder to me. It might be a typical song about breakups, but the way it’s written is very different from how English pop songs usually go and maybe that’s what’s pulling me in. IU also did a coverof this song and like the angel she is, she slayed it.

tumblr_nqucztAwGY1uwr3bwo1_500.jpg

 

3. Paper Hearts by Tori Kelly 

She released this quite awhile ago, but I’m still obsessed with it. Tori writes really great lyrics and this song made me cry the first time I heard it. Her vocals really never disappoint and she hits the high notes like it’s nothing and I have never been more jealous. Also, her hair is amazing.

16430c5966d67f8b182cbc8aac7a0854.jpg

 

4. I’m Young by Taehyun (Winner)

I recently came across Winner (because they kept appearing on my Tumblr feed) while they were having their comeback, and this was the first song I heard. The MV for it has a really great storyline (the link in the title is one with an English translation) and after three and a half minutes, of course I found myself falling for Taehyun like the K-Pop trash I am. The song really is relatable to anyone of any age, and the tone of this voice suits the song really well.

tumblr_o1tv5w0a9N1r60h71o1_540

 

5. Because of You by Kelly Clarkson

This song is really old but the meaning behind it really stuck with me. It was one of the first songs I heard from Kelly and I still love it after all this time. There’s just something about how raw she sounds singing this song, and the music video is honestly heartbreaking.

original

 

6. 十万毫升泪水 by Tanya Chua 

I first heard this song while watching some Chinese drama a few years ago and it was stuck in my head for a week so I finally decided to Google the song and it was probably a great decision. She wrote the lyrics based on her relationship with her parents (if I’m not wrong), although you could apply it to any relationship honestly. It still makes me sad and surprisingly, I still know  most of the lyrics (even though they’re in Chinese and I’m terrible at it).

tumblr-photography-sad-girl-picture-bZxl copy

 

7. Nobody’s Home by Avril Lavigne 

I may have mentioned it before, but once again, this is my go-to sad song. It’s my favourite Avril Lavigne song ever and nothing can change that. The lyrics just break me, especially during the bridge because it’s an accurate description of me (or at least it has been for the past 5 years). If you’ve never listened to it, go click on that link now. I command you to.

tumblr_n6mb2aa2jb1txtqedo1_500.jpg

 

8. Butterfly by Bangtan Boys

I’m not kidding when I say Korean songs can be just as sad as English songs. This song is something that is really different from BTS’ usual style (or at least to me) because it has a lot more raw emotions and songs like these are honestly my favourite. I also love how they used an analogy of a butterfly because it’s a pretty accurate depiction of relationships. Plus Jimin’s high note is just heaven.

tumblr_nyx1fafT4U1uwr3bwo1_1280

 

9. Breathe Me by Sia

This song came up on my Spotify “Discover Weekly” playlist one day, and it’s probably the best song Spotify has ever recommended to me. Sia’s lyrics have always been amazing at portraying raw emotions, but this song just takes it to a whole new level. The instrumental at the end is really sad too and I honestly cannot tell you how much I love this song.

tumblr_mz5r4r931M1sigdwno1_500

 

10. Haru Haru by BigBang 

The acoustic version of this song is a lot sadder than the original because well, stripped down versions are usually like this. I got goosebumps listening to this and the MV was just on a different level because it’s one of the rare K-Pop MV’s that will make you cry because of the storyline. If you don’t feel something because of it, I swear you are not human.

tumblr_lw34tuHR6r1r66eolo1_500.png

 

11. When You’re Gone by Avril Lavigne

Okay so maybe I like Avril Lavigne a little too much.  But don’t blame me, blame my dad for introducing her to me. This song really hit home for me because when people come into my life, I expect them to stay, not leave suddenly, and this song accurately portrays how I feel after. And let’s be honest, the old Avril was a lot better.

tumblr_n0qwflPtWH1r3hibjo1_500

 

12. I Need U by Bangtan Boys 

A friend of mine told me I needed to listen to this song before I got into K-Pop and I listened to it once then forgot about it. I was scrolling through my Spotify one day to look for new Korean songs to listen to and found it again and I was sold to this group. The lyrics really are amazing and it was perfect for the situation I was in at the time and even though it’s an upbeat song, I cried every time I listened to it for a week. Now, I know the dance to it (this is embarrassing) and I sing it in the shower everyday.

tumblr_nnlljxkxHn1s3gxrpo5_r1_540.jpg

 

So those are 12 songs I think you should listen to. You don’t have to, but you should. And if you can’t tell by now, this post was written and exists because I am currently sad. So if you’re reading this and have nothing to do, let’s talk about silly things an attempt to achieve short-lived happiness.

 

Posted by

I'm a media student in Singapore and I love to write. I'd like to think my opinions matter but they really don't. I'm a little too sarcastic but I promise I'm nice too.

One thought on “12 Songs to Listen to When You’re Sad

Leave a Reply

