Makeup-Free May

Yes, I know it’s June 11 today and the title says Makeup-Free May but bear in mind I’m one of the best procrastinators the world has come to know. 

I came up with the idea of going makeup-free for a month after being forced to not wear makeup to school one day because I had soccer tryouts. Yes, you read that right. I went for soccer tryouts, but that’s another story for another day. I decided to not wear makeup for a month after realising how insecure and uncomfortable I felt the whole day simply because I wasn’t wearing any makeup.

Those of you who know me know I can’t leave the house without any makeup because:

a. I have really bad eyebags

b.  I have really pale lips that make me look perpetually ill and

c. I have bad skin

I’ll admit, looking at myself in the mirror before I left the house everyday was tough, because I’d find a ton of acne I needed to conceal and realise my brows were a mess. But slowly, I got used to it and everything seemed fine after awhile, so here are some pros to not wearing makeup.

1. You can rub your eyes whenever you want

This might sound incredibly stupid, but having on eyeliner stopped me from rubbing my eyes whenever I was tired, and this new found freedom I had was amazing to me.

2. You don’t have to wake up early to get ready

I only spend about 15 minutes a day on my daily routine, and even though 15 minutes is a short time, 15 minutes of extra sleep is heaven.

3. You don’t have to worry about your makeup melting off in the heat

Singapore has been ridiculously hot lately, and not having to worry about my makeup melting off was honestly such a relief.

 

I expected to come out of May loving my natural face more and accepting myself for who I am, but in all honesty, it didn’t make much of a difference to me. The moment June rolled round, I was back to my daily routine. That makeup-free month didn’t teach me to love myself more, it made me realise just how insecure I am about my own face. There were mornings I’d wake up and not recognize my reflection because of my eyebags and pale lips.

It was a fun experience though, but I just love my makeup too much to give it up completely. Hopefully I’ll get less reliant on it but I still foresee myself waking up early before school just to slather on concealer and fill in my brows.

Also, it’s been ages since I last updated this blog. I’d like to say it’s solely because I was busy but we all know I was lazy too. It’s the holidays so I’m slightly less busy, so I’ll try and write more (if anyone actually reads this). See you all soon!!!

Posted by

I'm a media student in Singapore and I love to write. I'd like to think my opinions matter but they really don't. I'm a little too sarcastic but I promise I'm nice too.

Leave a Reply

