Review: WINGS (Part 1)

I am back to share my irrelevant views on K-POP and more specifically, BTS. I’ve been sitting on this post for a while, because I was hoping to do it after my physical albums arrived. It’s been a month since the album has been released and they still haven’t arrived :’) But it’s okay, good things come to those who wait right?

Because I have so much nonsense to say about the album, I’ve decided to split it into 2 posts. This one will talk about the story behind the album, the track list and all that stuff. I’ll talk about my personal favourites and more in the second post because where else am I supposed to release my inner fangirl?

This is BTS’ second studio album (the rest were mini albums), and as the title of this post tells you, it’s called WINGS. It contains 15 songs, out of which 7 are solo tracks, meaning each member has their own solo track.

BigHit released 4 versions of the album- W, I , N and G. Being the geniuses they are, the photos in the photobook of each album are different, so of course I decided to get all 4.

bts_-_wings

As you can see in the photo above, all 4 albums come together to form a smokey collage, which I feel suits the theme of the album really well.

WINGS come as the “sequel” to BTS’ Skool Luv Affair (SLA) and The Most Beautiful Moment in Life (HYYH) trilogy. BTS is known for telling the story of youth, as in their SLA trilogy, they spoke of young love, whilst in HYYH, they showed the hardships of being a youth.

WINGS is the next chapter in that story, speaking of the temptations youth face as they grow up. This can be seen in most of their tracks, especially so in the opening track, Intro: Boy Meets Evil. I mean come on, “boy meets evil” is right in your face.

The boys drew inspiration from the book Demian by Hermann Hesse. I bought the book and after reading it, felt extremely stupid because it was too deep for me to understand. Two reads later, I see the parallels between the album and the book and I will admit, it is a good read.

In the lead up to the album, a series of short films that are linked quite closely to the book, with each member’s story being represented by a circle. These short films also happened to throw the entire fandom into chaos, as each member’s short film could be linked back to their stories in the HYYH AND SLA trilogies, which was quite mind-blowing.

ctnxicjuiaadetf

I personally love the aesthetic of the circles because black and white is my favourite. From left to right, they represent: Jungkook, Rap Monster, Suga, Jimin, V, J-Hope and Jin. Together, these 7 circles merged to form 4 (I know, the whole thing is confusing).

tumblr_static_tumblr_static_a0a85b7nkiokg8ccokk4s8ggg_640

Okay, enough nonsense about the circles and the meaning of the circles and the story behind the album. As I mentioned above, the album comes with 15 tracks as follows:

Track 1 – INTRO: Boy Meets Evil

Track 2 – 피 땀 눈물 Blood Sweat Tears

Track 3 – Begin (Jungkook Solo)

Track 4 – Lie (Jimin Solo)

Track 5 – Stigma (V Solo)

Track 6 – First Love (Suga Solo)

Track 7 – Reflection (Rap Monster Solo)

Track 8 – MAMA (J-Hope Solo)

Track 9 – Awake (Jin Solo)

Track 10 – Lost 

Track 11 – BTS Cypher Part 4

Track 12 – Am I Wrong

Track 13 – 21세기 소녀 21st Century Girls

Track 14 – 둘! 셋! (그래도 좋은 날이 더 많기를) 2! 3! (Hoping for better days)

Track 15 – INTERLUDE: WINGS

 

This might sound incredibly biased because they’re my favourite group, but there isn’t a song in the album that is “skip-worthy” to me. They’re so all so well-produced and well-written, and Blood Sweat Tears in my opinion, is the perfect title track to carry across the theme of the album. Each solo song also tells the individual story of each member really well, and to describe them each really shortly:

Begin: It tells the story of how being BTS has helped Jungkook grow in a beautiful and haunting manner.

Lie: The personally story behind it is not clear as Jimin has not said anything officially, but the beautiful lyrics and haunting melodies are ear candy.

Stigma: Similar to Jimin, V has not said anything publicly, but I personally see the song being linked to his story in HYYH. V’s voice suits this song perfectly as he hits both the high and low notes effortlessly.

First Love: Suga is back with his heart warming rap verses as he speaks of his love for the piano. The song is so sincere and touching it just screams Min Yoongi.

Reflection: The song speaks of the troubles Rap Monster goes through as a musician and a youth, and I personally find it to be very relatable, especially the final hook of the song which goes “I wish I could love myself”. 

MAMA: Being the angelic boy he is, J-Hope dedicated this song to his mother, and his love for his mum can be felt clearly.

Awake: Hands down my favourite solo song, Jin sings about his struggles in life and the melody is perfect together for a rainy night in bed.

 

As for the other tracks, Lost is a song that features only the vocal team, and speaks of youth being lost and not knowing where they are in life. BTS’ fans mostly consist of those who are still young and figuring out themselves in life, so I’m sure most of their fans can relate to this song like I do.

No words can describe BTS Cypher Part 4 because cypher. After what seems like forever, we see the rap line spitting diss verses again, and I just love the weird and mysterious ring the song has. It’s quite different from Cypher Part 2 & 3, but I still love it nonetheless.

Am I Wrong is described by the group to be similar to Dope, but I personally find it quite different. The song to me seems to be a feeble attempt to step into the US market but nonetheless I still love it. The way Jimin pronounces the word “crazy” is ridiculously cute. Not to mention, the choreography for this lets Jin shine so of course I’m a fan.

When I first saw the title 21st Century Girls, I thought it was an incredibly stupid song but I take that back. Everything from the  lyrics to the choreography and the beat is so on point, making it one of my favourites on the album.

As strange as 2! 3! (Hoping for better days) sounds, it’s a really touching song. Meant to thank their fans for sticking with them the past 3 years, the song is perfect for when you need a little cheering up.

INTERLUDE: WINGS is quite different from BTS’ usual style, but nonetheless, a track worth listening to. It is shorter than most songs, but I find it showcases the strengths of each member really well.

So that’s the end of Part 1! Of course being the K-POP trash I am it’s ridiculously long, which is also one of the reasons why I decided to split this review into 2 posts. Here’s to hoping my albums arrive before the second post goes up (I doubt it will but a girl can dream). See y’all in my next post

Leave a Reply

