moonshot Haul + Review

Hello my dear friends. I know it has been ages since I last wrote anything, but intern is now over and I am a free bird (or at least for the next few months). I’ll do up a post about my intern experience if I’m not too lazy, but for now, I’m back with another beauty review!!

For those of you who may not be aware, moonshot is a cosmetic brand started by YG Entertainment, a Korean entertainment company (home to a few of my favourites like BIGBANG and WINNER).

Since I’m more into Korean makeup and skin care, I decided to give moonshot a try and got myself a few products to test out. For the first time in any of my posts about beauty, I’ll be including swatches because I thought it would be more useful than reading me ramble. So without further ado, here we go!!

I own almost enough moonshot products to do a full-face moonshot only makeup look, but I can’t seem to find their Jelly Pots in Sephora stores in Singapore anymore, so I guess I’ll have to wait till I go to Korea. I’ll be going in the order of base, eyes then lips for this review.

P.S: I didn’t think I had that many moonshot products until I sat down and did this post.

1. Dark Spot Concealer (#301)

img_3144

This product promises to conceal not only dark spots, but provide “whitening/brightening skincare effects to the skin”, but after using it for about 2 weeks, I’m still not entirely sure I get that whitening effect. It definitely keeps it promises of being high-coverage, because a little product really goes a long way.

It does feel a little heavy and the consistency is quite similar to a liquid foundation for me, but rather surprisingly, it doesn’t cake up by the end of the day. My only beef with it is the fact that it has more of an orange undertone as compared to my BareMinerals concealer which has a yellow undertone.

concealerswatch

Final verdict: I’d recommend using this if you’re looking for a high-coverage concealer and aren’t concerned with brightening.

2. Microfit Cushion (#301)

img_3147

First off, I just wanna say I really love the packaging this came in. It’s a holographic box and the photo I took does no justice to it. I also love the colour of the puff that came with it. It’s this really nice shade of lilac, although mine is covered in foundation by now.

I’ve used about 3/4 cushions in the past year, but this might be my favourite. It’s really long lasting, and it doesn’t transfer easily. It has a semi-matte finish which I love, although I still go in and set it with powder because I just don’t like that slightly sticky feeling cushion foundations leave. It doesn’t make you look shiny too, which is another thing I love about it, because I hate looking like a piece of fried chicken halfway through the day.

I didn’t take a swatch of this because it’s almost exactly the same shade as my skin, which is a bonus for me. It also has this smell that I like, although it’s hard pinpoint what it smells like (my friend says it smells like chemicals but oh well.)

Final verdict: If you love dewy foundations, you might wanna give this one a miss. But if you’re looking for something long-lasting that doesn’t cake or melt in the heat, I’d say to give this cushion a try.

3. Brow Shaper Pencil (#02)

img_3149.jpg

For some strange reason, you can get this at Sephora’s but not on the moonshot site itself.

I’m a brow pencil kind of girl, and although moonshot carries a brow powder, it has never really appealed to me because I find powders to be too much work. I like how convenient brow pencils are, because well, you have the pencil and spoolie in one product.

I like the natural colour of this brow pencil, although I must say that if you don’t have a base on, the colour might not show up as dark as you’d expect. I also love how firm the spoolie is compared to one on the Innisfree brow pencil I was using previously.

It’s one of those brow pencils with a slanted angle, which I find makes it easier to fill in the brows.

img_3169.jpg

Final verdict: If you prefer a natural looking brow instead of a harsh one, this brow pencil is perfect for you.

4. Line Performer Liquid Liner (#01)

img_3150.jpg

I was switching from pencil to liquid liners when I got this, and I spent close to 30 minutes in Sephora trying on so many different types before I chose this one. In fact, I had already left the store before deciding to go back get this. Why? I washed my hands in the toilet and every other eyeliner smudged except for this one.

I love how waterproof this is, because it meant I could watch my K-dramas in the office without worrying about whether my eyeliner was going to smudge if I cried (yes, I cry at everything).

I also love how jet black this eyeliner is. Some eyeliners tend to come in a faded black, which I personally don’t like. The felt tip is also really easy to control, making it easy to get neat lines.

One downside to this otherwise near perfect product is how long it takes to dry. If you go over your line more than once like I do, be prepared to keep some sort of fan on hand to help speed up the drying process.

img_3168.jpg

Final verdict: If you’re an impatient person, give this eyeliner a miss because you’ll end up with smudgy eyeliner before you even leave the house.

5. Lipfeat Lipstick

img_3163.jpg

Now this is one of moonshot’s newer products, and I’ll admit the reason I was drawn to it is because BlackPink is promoting it. I have this in three shades: Purple Splash, Electric Pink and Faint Brick. The first two were given to me at work, and I got Faint Brick after trying out Electric Pink.

I usually use only matte lipsticks, but this lipstick is an exception. I find it’s not as sticky as other cream lipsticks are, and the pigmentation is amazing. It’s also pretty moisturising and it doesn’t dry out my lips easily.

However being a cream lipstick, I do find it transfers easily and you definitely have to touch up throughout the day.

My favourite thing about this lipstick? The triangle shaped bullet. It makes applying it so much easier, especially when it comes to the corners of your mouth.

Out of the 3 colours, I use Faint Brick the most because I live for neutral  shades. I do use Electric Pink once in a while, but instead of applying it normally, I dab it on to make it sheer because well, it’s too pink for me. I still have yet to try out Purple Splash because I have no idea what to pair it with.

lipswatch.png

Final verdict: This is one of my favourite lipsticks, and although the colour selection is a little small, the formula and pigmentation get a thumbs up from me.

6. Stick Extreme Lipstick (Swingy Brown)

img_3161.jpg

Before the LipFeat, we had the Stick Extreme. I’ll admit I got this mainly because of I love how it’s square shaped (I have a weakness for square lipsticks).

This is another cream lipstick, but to be completely honest, I don’t like this product at all.

When I swatched it on my hand in the store, it seemed like a nice nude brown, but when I tried it out for the first time on my lips, it just made me look sick.

I find this applies patchy, and it dries out my lips and settles in the cracks. The pigmentation isn’t great either, and it transfers really easily.

img_3170.jpg

Final verdict: If you’re looking for a new lipstick, this is probably not it. You’re better off with the LipFeat which not only has more colours, but a much better formula.


I’ll say that overall, I’m pretty impressed with moonshot. Although their products are a little pricier than other Korean beauty brands, the quality of their products make it worth the price. Not to mention, their design and packaging are aesthetically pleasing too.

Now that I have more free time on my hands, I’ve promised myself I’ll start writing more often in an attempt to hone my writing skills.

See you in my next post 🙂 안녕~~

Posted by

I'm a media student in Singapore and I love to write. I'd like to think my opinions matter but they really don't. I'm a little too sarcastic but I promise I'm nice too.

2 thoughts on “moonshot Haul + Review

Leave a Reply

