3 Years Later

Some of you may or may not know, but I am unofficially done with poly. And by unofficially, I mean I am done with school but have not graduated and received my diploma. Nonetheless (look at me using fancy words), poly has truly been a life changing experience and I’m glad 16 year-old me took the risk and decided to go to SP instead of a JC.

For those of you who may not know, I decided to pursue Creative Writing in TV & New Media (DTVM) in Singapore Polytechnic after my O Levels. Like the blur child I was, I saw Creative Writing in the course title and decided it was the place to go to pursue my passion for writing. Little did I know I would be thrown into the world of videography, scriptwriting and hills (I had to climb a hill to get to class every day life was tough friends).

During my stay in DTVM, I did pick up a few useful skills such as Photoshop. Here’s a gem from one of our first lessons in Year One:

yearone

By the way, Sherlyn edited this because I was still a clueless child at that point. This is what I can do now: lame.png

It’s not much better because the lighting doesn’t match and it was done in 5 minutes. Also yes, I enjoy photoshopped photos of myself with J-Hope.

But that’s not my point. DTVM has taught me so many things that I’m sure I wouldn’t be able to learn elsewhere.

I know how to write scripts for documentaries, entertainment programmes and TV shows. I know what would make a TV show sell and what wouldn’t. I know how to write for hard and soft news. I know how to use Photoshop (just the basics), I can edit videos (this might be a lie I haven’t opened Premiere Pro in a year) and I can code a website (a complete lie I already forgot what a CSS is)

That was a lot of “I know”s but it’s true. DTVM has taught me so many things I never dreamed I would get to experience. Not only did DTVM teach me many technical things, but it also taught me people skills I’m grateful to have.

Throughout the course, I’ve had the chance to work with so many different people. There were good project groups and of course the bad. Sometimes it was a joy working in a group, and others, it felt like I was doing the work of a whole factory and I wanted to cry. I did countless times but was all part of the process of becoming a tougher person.

I’ve had my fair share of drama with my classmates. From being hated on “anonymously” on someone’s blog post to hating a classmate but somehow ending up best friends now (Nat this is for you HAHAHA), it was a rollercoaster of emotions, but a good one.

I was given the chance the meet some of the greatest people and I’m grateful for that.

img_8352img_8343

They said FYP would be in a pain in the ass, but because of the people, it was by far my favourite project. Okay, maybe it’s my favourite project because I spent one whole semester working on K-POP but still, it brought me closer to people I used to be terrified of (aka Kylen).


I was also given the chance to intern with Young Parents (YP) magazine as part of my time with DTVM, and that was something that has definitely impacted me.

I’m not gonna lie, I was quite disappointed I had been assigned to YP when I first heard the news (I initially applied for Cleo). But 22 weeks later, I couldn’t have had a better internship experience.

The YP team was so patient, kind and nurturing, and I was given so many opportunities while working with the magazine. I worked on original stories for both the website and magazine, wrote snippets for their print issues, and even got the chance to work on full -length features.

Working with YP made me realise that I truly do wish to continue working in the magazine industry in the future, and I hope that I will be able to work towards my dream after university.

Processed with VSCO with m5 preset


Some of you may also know that I joined Vocal Talents (VT) when I was in SP. I did a previous post on that, but here’s what I realised one year after leaving that CCA: VT has the most toxic environment I’ve ever been in.

Sure, it was fun and games at times, and I made friends I hope to keep in touch with for a long while more. But at the same time, it also was why my second semester in Year 2 was a living hell.

The story is too long to tell and quite hard to believe (it sounds a lot like a K-drama), but those who are close to me know how much of a toll it took on me. I really wasn’t the same person I was before everything happened, and I’m not the same person now. That incident might have changed me, but I hope it’s for the better.

JPEG image-6885895DE071-1.jpeg

That being said, I did learn a lot from my time with VT. I’d like to think my singing has improved the slightest bit, and I appreciate music more now.


I’ve learnt so much through all the ups and downs, but that’s another post all together (one that will be up after this one I promise).

I’m glad 16 year-old Hannah decided 3 years of hell in poly was better than 2 years of mugging in JC. I’ve made many friends I hope to keep for a long time but it’s not goodbye yet (it’s impossible to get rid of me, everyone knows that). Emotional Hannah writing this at 2am loves everyone and I will be back with another post soon 🙂

See you in my next post 🙂 안녕~~

P.S: I have more unglam photos of Natasha and Sherlyn than I have of myself I don’t know how I’m gonna survive Korea with them

P.P.S: It feels weird looking at photos of myself because 90% of the photos in my phone is K-POP

Posted by

I'm a media student in Singapore and I love to write. I'd like to think my opinions matter but they really don't. I'm a little too sarcastic but I promise I'm nice too.

Leave a Reply

