6 DAY6 Tracks To Check Out

I’m back to share my love for K-POP and this time, the featured group is JYP’s DAY6!! If you’re interested in learning more about this group and my 6 recommended tracks, keep reading to find out more.

Here’s a quick introduction to DAY6 for anyone who isn’t familiar with them.

day6.png

DAY6 is a 5 member band formed by JYP Entertainment, and they debuted in 2015. The group originally consisted of 6 members, but one member had his contract terminated by JYP, and rumours were it was because he was dating a fan (who said K-POP and K-dramas can’t merge).

The group launched their project called Every DAY6 in 2017, where they would release new tracks each month.

DAY6 consists of:


sungjin

Sungjin: Leader, Guitarist and Main Vocalist 

jae.gif

Jae: Main Guitarist, Vocalist and Rapper

youngk.gif

Young K: Bassist, Vocalist and Rapper

wonpil.gif

Wonpil: Synthesizer, Vocalist

dowoon

Dowoon: Drummer

One of the reasons why I love them is because unlike most K-POP groups, they’re a band, and not a boy group. This does unfortunately mean they’re less successful, but their music is amazing. Also in case anyone is wondering, Young K and Jae are my biases. Let’s move on to the music now, shall we?

1. Congratulations

This track comes off their debut EP The Day in 2015, and the songs speaks of being replaced by a lover.

What I love about this song is how it’s slightly sarcastic. The lyrics are congratulating the girl, saying she’s done a good job replacing her lover, which to me, is rather unusual for pop songs.

This song is perfect for singing in the shower on a bad day, and Young K’s rap on the track is one of my favourite Young K lines out there.

congratulations

2. Letting Go (놓아 놓아 놓아)

This is one of my favourite DAY6 tracks ever, and I’ve mentioned it in a previous post about songs for rainy weather.

As I’ve said before, I love the A Cappella intro and how it progresses from an easy-listening track to an intense cry-your-heart-out song. But my absolute favourite thing about this track is the message behind it: sometimes letting go is the right thing to do. 

lettinggo

3. Blood

Unlike the rest of the songs in this post, Blood is a non-title track, and it comes off their 2016 EP titled Daydream (Letting Go is from the same EP). 

I love the guitar riffs in the song, and the many chances the melody provides for the members to show off their strong vocals.

The message of the song is something that hits home for me, as it talks about how sometimes we can get addicted to something, even though we know it’s bad for us.

blood

4. I Wait (아 왜)

Every DAY6 January was their first release of 2017, and this track is hands down my favourite DAY6 song ever.

I’d say the song is more rock-ish than the usual DAY6 track, but this makes it truly the best song to listen to on repeat when you’re frustrated or angry.

I may sound overly dramatic saying this, but words cannot express how much I relate to the message of the song. Being stuck in a place having to wait for someone to sort out their feelings is the worst thing ever, and bless Young K for putting that frustrating feeling into words.

iwait

5. You Were Beautiful (예뻤어)

This was part of their Every DAY6 February release, and once again, why do I find DAY6 lyrics so relatable?

I’m sure we’ve all had that point after a breakup where we think of calling the other party up to tell them we want to get back together. This song describes that lonely feeling, and how sometimes we only realise what we had once it’s gone.

That melancholic guitar intro at the start had me hooked the moment JYP released the teaser, but my favourite thing about the song is the word 예뻤어. Translated, it means “you’re pretty” or “it’s pretty”, but the group chose to have it translated as “you WERE pretty”. It’s the past tense that makes this song depressing to me.

youwerebeautiful.png

6. How Can I Say (어떻게 말해)

This is the latest DAY6 song to drop (as of 3/15 when this post was written), and it’s part of their Every DAY6 March release.

This is one of DAY6’s more rock songs, and I love all the hidden harmonies in the intro. The lyrics tell the story of not knowing how to tell someone you don’t love them anymore, and as it is with all DAY6 songs, it’s a struggle I find all too familiar.

Young K on this track is my favourite, and I especially like the line “I hate me now” because that’s also a feeling that’s all too familiar. The transition from the chorus to the bridge with Jae and Young K’s voices overlapping in that moment to make it sound like “How can I say I don’t love you no more” is truly brilliant (for anyone interested, it’s at the 2:29 mark of the song).

howcanisay.png

DAY6 truly has a special place in my heart, and I love not only their lyrics, but the fact that they write their own songs.

See you in my next post 🙂 안녕~~

 

One Reply to “6 DAY6 Tracks To Check Out”

Leave a Reply

